For The Sake Of Clarity

“Never do I argue with a man with a desire to hear him say what is wrong, or to expose him and win victory over him. Whenever I face an opponent in debate I silently pray – “O Allah, help him so that truth may flow from his heart and on his tongue, and so that if truth is on my side, he may follow me; and if truth be on his side,I may follow him.” Imam Al-Shafi’i.

Salam everyone,

My previous post seems to have garnered a heated discussion in the comment section. I hope everyone would take this positively as I do think we need to discuss these issues and not just sweep them under the carpet because they would never go away in that manner. They would always be there; only invisible.

I am not homophobic. I have met patients who are lesbians, my college caretaker at the uni is a gay…he lives with his partner and they have a son. My consultants who taught me in the hospital…some of them are gay. We know each other’s stand; there has never been ANY problems. I got good marks in my assessment items anyway, Alhamdulillah (praise for Allah) for that. I have known a fellow medical student who is a gay too.

None of them have ever reduced me to shudder in my boots in fear or disgust whenever I am in their vicinity. NONE!! Nada!

It all comes down to tolerance; acknowledging each other’s stand but despite of that, getting along very well anyway! If we want everybody to agree with our own stand 100% of the time, we will be offended 100% of the time. Because in everything that is not self-evident or factual, there will always be opposite, different and slightly dissimilar views that other people would have compared to ours.  So, we should all put ourselves in someone’s shoes and try to understand where they are coming from without feeling any compulsion to change  our own belief just so we could please them.

Would they want me to agree with them just because I want to please them? I don’t think anyone would like that. Because I know I don’t.

I don’t want anyone to agree with me just to please me. Agree with me because you see merit in what I am saying. If you don’t, that’s absolutely fine. To you, is your own belief; To me is mine.

If it is indeed true that as a medical professional, I am not allowed to have my own views made public regarding homosexuality or write about them base on my own opinion, I wouldn’t want to be a doctor. I don’t want to restrict myself in that manner…not even for a medical degree. I am, insya Allah, going to be a Muslim doctor and I come in that package. That package means I would not do abortion without any medical reason, I would not offer euthanasia (but I would withdraw treatment), I would not advocate for anything not permissible in my religion.

However, that does not mean I am going to treat my gay patients in a degrading manner. In medical school, we are taught communication skill and we are given ethic lectures. We do public health and we know all about health equity. So don’t worry.

I haven’t decided what kind of doctors I want to be. I do know I love certain specialty more than others.

I love cardio…and I want to be a cardiologist. I could see myself saving a gay patient from myocardial infarction. I love obs and gynae…and I still see myself treating uterine cancer in a lesbian patient. I love gastroenterology…and I still see myself treating  gastroenteritis in a child adopted by a gay partner.

The truth is, there isn’t much opportunity for doctors to impose their views regarding homosexuality on any of their patients. They treat all patients admitted under their specialty with no regards to their sexual orientation. The only way gay people would feel insulted by medical professionals who happen to oppose homosexuality would be if they go to a sexual counselor wanting to talk about their sexual orientation and end up being talked down to. (most medical professionals who oppose homosexuality would still not talk down to a gay patient. You would think we have enough intelligent to have more finesse and subtlety than that).  Even then, they could have chosen a sexual counselor who they know is pro-homosexual (there are many of them!!). But it’s not fair to limit OUR rights to speak up about what we believe as right just because we happen to be doctors.  How is that not limiting my freedom of speech? If by my becoming a doctor, anyone feels they have the right to zip up my mouth…then I want OUT!

If the homosexual people EVER feel insulted going to a gastroenterologist, a cardiologist, or a respiratory physician regarding their illness that is not related to their sexual behaviour, then the blame is on the doctor!

I hope I have made myself clear, because I am not very good with reading between the lines (and therefore do not write between the lines very well and always write clearly. For this post, I forgo the use of sarcasm in favour of clarity.)

I am still following the Queer Awareness Week at my uni (it’s such a shame I have broken my camera during my last trip to NZ because I would love to be able to put some pics). And I would update this issue after that week comes to an end.

I leave my readers with a video from YOU TUBE about the Muslims stand regarding homosexuality. We are not against the person or the people…we are just against the action.  Maybe, after listening to this video, you would know how it is possible that I can have gay friends yet I do think the action is wrong.

2 thoughts on “For The Sake Of Clarity

Leave a Reply

