A Rose By Any Other Name… (2)

screenshot-2016-10-22-10-51-00

So many of my acquaintances had shared the facebook status above and it appears in my newsfeed, boiling my blood anew. Below is my own comment, in response to this status.

screenshot-2016-10-22-11-05-19

 

I am frustrated and disappointed. That so many of my friends cannot see eye to eye on this.

Some of my close friends and my family members do see the way I do. But unlike me,  they are the silent ones.They have their own opinion, but they don’t feel the need to comment and spread the truth.

I have mentioned before, that people care about different things in life and it is okay. Not everyone has to behave like I do, or else the society would always be in a state of arguments and debate. Hahaha.

Some must be the diplomats in the society, preserving harmony by ignoring their own opinion and ‘appear’ to be sweet and nice. They sacrifice the need for their version of truth to be heard, preferring to maintain the status quo of harmony and tranquility. That is actually admirable in its own way.

Some must be the feelers in the society, who makes caring about other people’s feelings as their main priority, making ‘saying the truth’ as something secondary. That’s okay (I guess, hahah. But will I choose people like this as a close friend, as my companion? Of course not. We don’t have similar wavelengths. You go along and do your thing. And I will continue to do my thing. Adios! All the best!)

But society also needs someone who is predominantly a straight talker. And that’s me. That’s Wardina. That’s Dr. MAZA. And people like us will always be thought as someone who “dia asyik ingat dia sorang betul.” Like we are arrogant… but that’s not it. We place truth and sincerity as our main priority and feeling is secondary. That’s all! We will take care of your feelings as long as it does not compromise the truth!

Blame it on my INTP trait. INTPs gift the world with radical honesty. And people are not always comfortable with that.

So I posted my facebook status above, knowing that many of my friends online do not see eye to eye with me. Because I need people to open their eyes and understand the essence of our religion. How beautiful it is. How logical, how intelligent, how intellectually appealing it is….and that’s why it is beautiful. If Islam is represented this way, there would be many non-Muslims in Malaysia who will be attracted to Islam.

Isn’t it ironic? In a Western country in which they have no pro-Islam policies, amidst all the negative propaganda, people still convert to Islam almost every week. But in our own country, where resources are being distributed for Islamic propaganda, the apostasy (murtad) rate is worrying. Some don’t even bother to declare themselves as an apostate but simply stop practicing. The beauty of Islam cannot shine through layers of bureaucratic dirts we have piled upon our religion!

I learned to appreciate Islam in Australia. Not in Malaysia! That is the irony.

That irony is most hurtful. And so writing about this becomes my catharsis.

So, here it is, A Rose By Any Other Name (2). You may agree or you may disagree, but know that this is me, being a straight talker, gifting you with my radical honesty. You might not like the gift, but I insist that you should have it. This is me being sweet. If I don’t care about you, I wouldn’t have bothered to explain myself. But I do. Care about you.

So, yeah…who says I can’t be sweet?  *wink, wink*

Leave a Reply

