The Common Sense of Eid

When I want to relax, I write.

When I want to say something significant without sounding too serious, I will compose a story. It doesn’t matter if I am the only one who could grasp the hidden meaning behind it. It’s okay if no one understands. It’s simply that I derive great satisfaction and a sense of contentment while writing.

One of my long term commitment was writing the Dark Habibi series; stories for children, really. I always find writing children stories particularly enjoyable. Children are honest creatures with original ideas and thought processes. It is a challenge for adults to write about how children think and speak and behave – because we have left childhood so long ago. I found the exertion quite enjoyable.

Previously, I had written 3 parts to those series :

Intro: dark-habibi-series

Part 1:THE BOY COVERED IN SOOT

Part 2:THE LYING HABIBI

Part 3:AUNT MINA IS BEAUTIFUL

In honour of this years’s Eid, I have written Part 4 to the Dark Habibi Series.

Part 4:THE COMMON SENSE OF EID

The Common Sense of Eid are these: Forgiveness, Generosity, Betterment.

This story is another way of me trying to ask for  forgivenes for all my wrong doings, and all the misery and heartache I have caused – justly or unjustly. May Allah, The Most Generous and The Most Merciful, forgive you as you have forgiven me.

May Allah forgive all of our sins and make us graduate from this month of Ramadhan a better person. Taqabballahu Minna Wa Minkum.

Have a beautiful Eid, everyone.

 

Lots of love,

Afiza Azmee.

2 thoughts on “The Common Sense of Eid

Leave a Reply

